Munnar, April 20 - Reisverslag uit Munnar, India van Rick Goede - WaarBenJij.nu Munnar, April 20 - Reisverslag uit Munnar, India van Rick Goede - WaarBenJij.nu

Munnar, April 20

Door: rikdegoede

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rick

20 April 2012 | India, Munnar

I've spent only one week in Kerala, and yet I think I have a good impression of this state already. I saw the superb ocean beach at Varkala, a little resort three hours by train from Kanyakumari. I saw the backwaters (gullies, lakes and lagoons), with their green tropical vegetation, fishermen and houseboats. And now I am in the mountains of the West Ghats, where green rolling slopes are covered in waterfalls, pines and tea/spice plantations. It's a wonderfully beautiful state. The only problem was the humid tropical heat, but here in the mountains that problem disappeared. It's a delight to have 25 degrees and cool rains everyday, but I will now soon have to decent to the sizzling hot plains of the interior, to continue my journey north. Around the 2nd of May I have to be in Delhi to meet my mother! It will still be a hell of a long journey...

Last week I traveled together with two girls from London, both art students and wonderful people that shared the stories of their lives with me for a moment. This made me again wonder how wonderful or cruel life can be, depending on your perspective. As always, it amazes me how brave and bold people sometimes can become in the face of difficulties. Indian society is deeply religious and spiritual, but the only thing I begin to believe in more and more is the force of human willpower, intelligence and determination.

Traveling through a continent like India brings you closer to reality, in a way that forces you to enjoy and understand life more. If any of the people I met on the way are reading this blog: I feel very grateful for the experiences and stories we shared. I hope you will all find the destination you try to reach and enjoy the journey there!

  • 20 April 2012 - 22:13

    Minny:

    het wordt spannend voor jou en hanny!
    hier gaat alles zijn gangetje, ook met
    oma en tante. groetjes, ook van oma

  • 21 April 2012 - 09:24

    Hanny:

    Hi Rik, fijn weer wat te horen. Ja, het gaat snel: over 12 dagen land ik in Delhi! Wat klinkt het mooi, die West Ghats! en wat is de wereld toch groot. wat een voorrecht dat je dat allemaal kunt zien en meemaken. Goede reis up north!
    mamma

  • 28 April 2012 - 20:00

    Paul:

    Hoi Rik, het is lang geleden dat ik heb geregaeerd, dus het wordt de hoogste tijd. Zo te lezen heb je al aardig wat van India gezien en weer heel veel meegemaakt. Nog een paar dagen en je ziet Hanny. Leuk hoor dat ze je komt vergezellen. En wat toevallig dat wij in dezlfde week Jolien in Amerika treffen. Jullie kunnen dan wel lekker alletwee naar Verweggistan afreizen, maar ouders reizen hun kinderen tegenwoordig gewoon achterna. Heel veel plezier de komende weken. Jij ook, Hanny. Ineke belt je nog voor je vertrek.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Rick

Actief sinds 24 Okt. 2011
Verslag gelezen: 320
Totaal aantal bezoekers 89043

Voorgaande reizen:

26 Oktober 2011 - 30 November -0001

Rick's travel blog

Landen bezocht: